The one that got away

20 Mar

                             The one that got away

Everyone talks about the one that got away, they seem to have an idea but not everyone has that one that actually got away or fully understands, How can they if they probably don’t have ‘that one that got away’, the one you saw yourself with and planned your future with…of course man proposes and God disposes but still having that one in your life can hurt especially when you start reminiscing and it even hurts more when even before it ends you know he’ll be the one that gets away no matter how hard you try and it hurts even more so when your story with him isnt one that makes you sad when you think about it. Writing this, my mind wanders to a similar experience, now saying I have the one that got away doesn’t mean im not ecstatic with the life i have presently but still you wonder.

  I first laid eyes on him at a party, at the time I never gave it too deep a thought because i was busy running around trying to get people happy and so I didn’t over think him. I had so much fun at the party that i forgot i even saw him at all and i continued to have fun, when it all died down he finally walked up to me and we started talking, after exchanging names it was like we had known each other for a long time, of course this could have been because we had similar friends but never knew each other. I had so much fun after the party that i was a little reluctant to leave but i did leave after we exchanged numbers. Weeks went by and we didnt speak and i kind of forgot about him, down the line my birthday came up and then he sprang up from nowhere,i was a little happy to hear from him and this started a relationship that i never saw happening in my life, we spoke all the time, he always came to see me, he took me out and showed me a side of men that i never thought existed, you see i had such a great mistrust of men and believed that nothing good could come out of them and all they cared about was sex and taking from you but he was so different i couldn’t comprehend it and a part of me thought he might be faking it but still i enjoyed where i was with him.

It was no surprise when two months after he asked me to be his girlfriend but i couldn’t bring myself to say yes as much as i wanted to, i knew myself and i knew that if i did i would cause more damage than good, my paranoia would get the best of me and truth be told i was scared because what we had was good and it was special. I was never worried or scared about anything with him and it all seemed perfect to me all that he was thinking about was me, all he wanted was me and no girl came close to me, he made sure i always knew that. Maybe this was what made me so comfortable in saying No and still knowing that he’d always be mine. Despite my answer he never changed and he never stopped being ‘my person’. I remember the first day i told him that i loved him, my heart stopped for abit, i had butterflies in my tummy but i knew that for the 1st time in my life i had said ‘i love you’ to someone and it was real, it was pure and i had no reservations about how i felt and this made it even harder for me to say Yes because i knew what i felt and i also knew my previous records with boyfriends but oh how i loved him.

Over ten months went by with me loving him unconditionally and through his dreams and his hopes and wanting to be there when he got there because i knew he was going to get to his dreams but suddenly a part of me started to detach, i couldn’t understand it at all because i wanted to still be there and i didn’t stop loving him but i could feel myself withdrawing to the point where we hardly even spoke and then our 1st big test came my way by the name of JJ and i was so tempted and i started to misbehave and i loved him but still i left him because my life with JJ was so alluring at the time and i didn’t see beyond the fun i was having with JJ. He didn’t need a sooth sayer to know what was going on and he also started to detach himself from me and that was how he left me, left the country without so much as a word to me and he got away from me before i could even realise what i was doing. JJ and i ended two months after we started, it was a weird ending but still an expected one especially to something that was purely for fun.

A couple of months later i did find true happiness but this isn’t to say i don’t still think about him and i don’t still love him but I’m not In love with him. Every time i think about him i thank him for giving me an experience that made me better than i was, an experience that made me ready for what was coming, to me he’ll always be my hero. He’s the one that got away, he’s the one that made me better and he’s the one that fixed me.

13 Responses to “The one that got away”

  1. Darth T. O. March 20, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    JJ took you away from me…the minger!

    I do apologise for leaving without saying goodbye. You were happy at the time and I couldn’t bing myself to upset you in any way.

    Back soon…;)

  2. Bisi March 20, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Awwwww… This reminds me of ‘the one who got away.’ #DEEP!!!

  3. VeryRandomGuy March 20, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Awwwwwwww *pause* … #Np fix you – coldplay *superman pose* ….. I think I know who JJ is and I was suspecting oohh but issorait such is life : )

  4. bona March 20, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Strong story…very impressive..I see u going places with ur writing..thumbs up

  5. Betty March 20, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Hey babes, I didn’t noe u wr such a wordsmith. Gud stuff.

  6. ifeanyi Michael adigwe March 20, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    wao!!!!! what can i say ?????
    wao?
    hmmm?
    well this is a very nice 1 and i think i have memories of this but i can point it out.
    i have known you for a Lil while but then this is great seriously.
    so touching

    • awaywiththewind March 20, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

      Haaa,I dunno if u know the story oo,lol….thank you dear

  7. Tyrule November 6, 2015 at 2:59 am #

    This is DEEP! Can’t help but to comment on this particular story.. I hope this doesn’t end up been the story of my life.. I don’t want to be the one that got away from her.. Sigh*

Leave a Reply

