SHES IN LOVE WITH HIM

22 Mar

                               SHES IN LOVE WITH HIM

We were high school sweethearts, prom king and queen, others were jealous of us and it always felt like nothing could stop us, we were always together and surprisingly never got tired of each other, it was a love made in heaven, we were perfect for each other. I never bothered when i saw other girls around him, i knew my place and i was steady in it. We finished high school and got admission into the same university but while he was studying banking and finance on the main campus i was studying dentistry and was majorly always in the medical campus of our university. I wasn’t just his girlfriend i was his ‘down ass bitch’, his ‘ride or die chick’, people used to call us bonnie and Clyde but that was majorly at our backs. When anything would go wrong i was always the first person he spoke to and i somehow seemed to make things better, there was no doubt in our minds that we would end up getting married when the time was right for us.

We were like an unstoppable force or maybe we only felt that way in our minds but still he was everything. While in our 3rd year in school, he lost his mum, it was such a devastating experience and his life seemed shattered, we thought that was the end of it and then 3months later his dad fell sick and he died and then he life truly came to a halt, he stopped attending classes and he started failing because he was missing tests and assignments and his first class had dropped to a 2:1 and this worried me. My life seemed to slow down too and i was always tired because i had to shuttle even more often than normal just so i could be with him all the time, i was scared he would do something to himself and i needed to get his school work back on track the best that i could, i had to make sure he ate also, all this made me thankful he had a room to himself and it wasn’t like a hostel situation. I was equally worried about how he would continue with the payment for the next year as i didnt want any part of his life to change drastically, i had to ask my own parents to pay it. He was in a funk for what seemed like a long long time but thankfully it didn’t last forever.

He got back on his feet, back to his life and classes with his sister, i was constantly being his rock and watching over him to make sure that he didn’t slip and fall, it was obvious that he missed his parents so much sometimes but he somehow found strength and managed to pull through every time. He entered his final year and put all his efforts into school that sometimes i thought he didn’t have my time anymore but i dint mind because i knew it was for a just cause and he had worked so hard for his 1st class and i knew a part of him still wanted to make his parents proud. His final exams came and then results followed a couple of weeks later and my baby had finished with the 1st class he so desired. When he was done i felt settled enough to go back to my final year(my course was 5years). He got a job while waiting for NYSC to start and it seemed at the time like a very good job, he always came to school to see me and during exams he brought me food every day but he wouldn’t stay longer than 15mins which was my break time from reading anyways. Final exams came and results followed, i wasn’t as smart as my Jomi but i still was able to finish with a 2:1 and my parents were ecstatic. NYSC came, i finished that and got a good job in an international private hospital and all i was waiting for was for Jomi to ask me to marry him so i could continue my life with him and have his cute babies. It seemed to me like Jomi started to detach a little bit and i started to get worried, would i be one of those girls i read about? And then it came, he came to see me at home and we got talking and he told me he needed a break from us, i smiled and said fine but i was broken but i wouldn’t let him see me like that. 6months later we got back together and it didn’t seem strange, it was like we picked up from where we left off and life continued.

We had been dating for 10years. He had finally gotten a good stable job, he had moved into his own house and it seemed like he was settled but for some reason he hadn’t asked me to marry him yet. I started getting so upset and this time i called him and told him i wasn’t getting younger and couldn’t continue wasting my time like that. A month later i was his fiancé, 3months after our wedding was planned and the date was set. I wasn’t a nervous bride or anything, i was always calm and collected because i knew everything about him and i wasn’t scared, i guess some people think this may be a good thing while others think it may be bad but i simply loved it. Jomi and i were unstoppable and as our wedding day got closer i decided to try for a baby, i wasn’t getting any younger so no point in waiting that was our next step. Finally THE month came and he had a bachelor’s party that his best friend had planned with his brother, Jomi had always been so close with Jire and Tope Hastrop though tope was younger and still in school Jomi always loved having him around and so did i.

Three weeks after his party our wedding day came and i was ecstatic, i was confident and i was stunning. I walked down the aisle with my father and i couldn’t stop smiling, i don’t even remember how most of the service went but i remember my favourite part of My Jomi’s vows, he looked me straight in the eyes with all sincerity and said ‘Zizi my love, you’re my everything, you’re the reason im here today, don’t think ive forgotten you’re the reason for my 1st class, i’ll make mistakes Zi, i may even hurt you but i will always honor you, i will always be yours and only death can take me away from you Zi because without you im dead, ZIzi soon to be Benson you are the air i breathe and i look forward to spending my life breathing you and honouring you’. The rest of the night was history and i always continued to remember his words. I was so happy and to make matters better i was pregnant, i was carrying Jomi’s baby, something i had been waiting for all my life and so i found it puzzling when i noticed the strange calls and texts and noticed that he was going out a little more than normal especially after work hours. A friend of mine told me that he saw Jomi with some girl at a restaurant but i didn’t believe him, i thought maybe it was nothing and he was over thinking it and then i saw it, the text message from her ‘jomjom boo aren’t u coming to my school today, i’ve ordered pizza and chicken wings and ive gotten the movie,where are you?’. I froze with shock ‘jomjom’ ‘abi this chick don dey craze ni?’ where was she when he had nothing, meanwhile jomi had told me he was going out but i stopped him to fix something that was wrong with the gen and so he forgot his phone at home.

I went mad but i stayed calm, who knew what i would do when i was mad, i sure as hell didn’t so i stayed calm, a strength i never even knew i had in me. Days later i couldn’t help it, i called her and i started yelling but then i calmed down and told her our story, i could hear her voice was shaking and she was confused, it was at that moment i knew that the only person at fault was Jomi, she seemed oblivious to the fact that i existed. I curled up and the tears came rolling down while jomi’s vows repeated in my ears. I didn’t tell Jomi i had called her but i was sure he knew. Days later i was home alone and i started to bleed ‘what was happening?’, i called my neighbour and was rushed to the hospital, the doctor informed me i was having a miscarriage, i didn’t cry or shake because i knew exactly why this was happening. Jomi had made me lose my baby, my perfect life had been shattered.

After Jomi found out everything i noticed changes in him. Two years down the line i see that he is trying to change but i also know that she is still in his life, for some reason she has decided not to let go of him and he seems to want to stay there, he seems content living his double life. I have accepted my fate with jomi but with the hope that one day he’ll be all mine. I look up and kola my little boy and he looks so much like jomi, i clean away my tears, say a little prayer and i hope for the best with my terrible situation.

4 Responses to “SHES IN LOVE WITH HIM”

  1. awaywiththewind March 22, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    haaa,finally done, 3stories in one day,im so proud of myself….*bows*

  2. naynay March 22, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Omg¤¤¤that is so depressin,dnt worry cuz anyfin iz possible,jst show kola all d luv u can giv,u av jomiz baybi,u.ll alwayz be hiz babi moma and he,ll alwais owe u so dnt giv up

    • awaywiththewind March 22, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      That’s what she plans to do,that’s y she’s decided to stay there becus of the love for kola

  3. fenelee November 22, 2014 at 8:10 am #

    Wow! Nice read. Love this. I believe Jomi will return to his senses. Zi will always be his true love. It’s a good thing Kola is around

Leave a comment